Unlimited access >

horse won't turn to the right?

hi y’all! so, i’ve been leasing a barn friend’s horse for a few months now (since february) and the entire time i’ve had trouble turning him to the right if there’s some kind of gate or place for him to stop on his left. he doesn’t do this if these gates/etc. are on his right. i’ve also noticed that in our sand arena (there is no gate to this one, just an opening), if i have him on a clockwise circle in anything faster than a walk or jog, he will fight as hard as he can to turn and go counter clockwise instead. he doesn’t even try to dart out the opening like i originally thought, just… offers to go the other direction. if you try to pull his nose in to the right while he does this, he yanks the reins from your hands, throws his head, and will stop and turn around anyway. it’s not as much as an issue in our clay arena, but i’m still concerned at this behavior, as my hands are all torn up from him yanking the reins from me. no amount of pulling, squeezing, cropping, etc. is able to get him to do that dang turn if he doesn’t want to do it. i’m just wondering if any of you have any solutions or thoughts on why he does this? i don’t have an instructor (been asking for one for quite a while, but i am young and my parents won’t get me one), so my friend helps me as best she can. we were thinking that he might have issues with that right shoulder, but i’m not sure if that’s right either, since he used to completely refuse to pick up his left lead and would purposely pick up his right (we managed to fix that, though) no matter what you did. i’m thinking of saving by myself for a massage session or a chiro session or something to see if that helps:) sorry this is a bit long, i tried to explain the situation as best i can lol.