Unlimited access >

Horsekeeping/Farm Design in Florida

I’m still in the very early planning stages, but it looks like in the next year or two, my dream of moving south (currently in CT) and having my horses at home will be coming true. I have lots of experience in horsekeeping – I’ve been a barn manager for upper level boarding facilities as well as been an equine vet tech for many years as well. That being said, all of that experience has been in the northeast US.

So lets talk about keeping horses in Florida – we are mainly looking at the Ocala area – year round. I am open to buying a farmette already built, or building myself. Looking to keep 3-4 dressage horses, no boarders. So tell me your thoughts! What do you wish someone had told you before you took the plunge? :slight_smile:

Stay away from the sandy areas west of Ocala in Levy county, and to the south of Ocala. It’s hard to keep good pastures on sand. If you are building, do soil tests BEFORE you buy - there are “veins” of a grey clay called “gumbo clay” here that will result in more expensive construction. The best pastures are in the NW area of the county. Prices are CRAZY now waht with the WOrld Eq Center and HITS and everything else. You will be shocked at the cost of hay (I bought two string Orchard grass yesterday - $25 / bale) Shop around to get your arena built - there are big names and smaller companies, get references. Look out for the “toll roads” the state is looking to build to the west of town. We are fighting it but best to be aware (and realtors are not required to tell you because no route is set yet).

1 Like