Horses and MS

I was diagnosed with MS in May. I have lesions on my optic nerves which caused scarring on my retinas which leaves me with blurring vision. I have weakness on my left sid I have balance issues and walk with a cane alot… I have cognitive issues - why did I come here and what was I looking for? LOL My brain can not keep up with my eyes. The eyes black out when I ride if the horse spooks for about 2 -3 seconds and I just hold on. Same if I turn my head quickly. I am so tired of the ms train.

I have 14 very fast, very quick moving horses, that disappear at the the least problem when my eyes black out. I am trying to get through this…I keep thinking I will wake up and the world will be right again. I just needed a place where you understand me and my horses. Dr. told me on my first visit to go ahead and sell them and move to the city. Seriously! I was told to reinvent myself.

I was a professional photographer doing animal portraits for people, I volunteered at SPCA and took there animal photos for 5 years. I was a horse show photographer. Just having a rough time dealing. I can no longer see the viewfinder of the camera. I know no one can help me, I just needed to get the words out.

thank you

K

Hi K:

I just wanted to give you a virtual hug. I was diagnosed with MS in 2001. I also have Addison’s disease and Hashimotos. My quality of life is dependent on “staying ahead of the curve” with my medications. I have been able to resume riding, but have greatly adjusted to the new reality of weakness, balance issues, etc. I ride once or twice a week at the most, and only when temperatures are optimal. I am still able to care for my 3 horses and pony myself, but do wonder if the day will come when that won’t be possible anymore.