Unlimited access >

How can I find a free lease?

Hi all-
I’m a current NCSU student, and being in college, I don’t have too much money to spend on horses. The most ideal solution I’ve come up with is to find someone who would be willing to offer an off-site free lease on a green horse or just one they don’t have time to work with. The problem is, I’m not from the Raleigh area and I really don’t know how to go about finding a horse like that. (I haven’t even settled on a barn I could board at-- I’m trying to find pasture board for under $400… Any suggestions would be appreciated!) Anyway, I’ve looked around a little on craigslist, facebook groups, horse sale sites, etc. but free leases don’t get much advertising, and it seems like it would be obnoxious to ask people if the horses they’re trying to sell would be available for free lease. Anyone have advice on how to go about this?

Honestly, it would probably be better for you to take lessons or do a part-lease with a barn. If you’re limited on funds to that extent, how would you cover the horse in an emergency? What about the other bills like vet and farrier? What if you suddenly can no longer afford the upkeep and the owners can’t or won’t take the horse back?

Even if you did find a free lease, you still have to convince them to allow you to keep the horse in the place you can afford. They may not approve of the location you find, or the horse may have needs that location can’t meet.

It’s the off-site part that is the dealbreaker. Most especially, it will be difficult if you want to take the horse off-site to an inexpensive barn rather than that of a locally well known and respected trainer.