Unlimited access >

How do you cope?

I’m currently a full time student and work 40 hours a week to pay for my school. Last year I was able to show pretty frequently and even managed to win Champion in training level at the year end awards brunch my local dressage chapter hosts. However, it doesn’t look like I’ll be able to ride nearly as frequently this year, so my long awaited move up to competing at First level is probably a no go.

I’m obviously not even considering quitting school, especially since I want to go on to grad school here in about a year. However, I tried the whole no horse thing when I first started college and I about died (only partially exaggerating here). This semester I am taking 14 credit hours and I am hoping to reserve one day a week to go out to the barn and de-stress, but finances are tight as always.

Which leads me to my question. How have you all managed to cope when barn time was limited by other obligations? I know horses will always be there so I’m not sitting here thinking if I don’t do horses now, I’ll never be able to, but I really enjoy going out to the barn and I have a lot of genuine friends out there that understand my “horse thing” better than anyone else in my life.

Blah…:no:

My life has always been horses, but over the years…I have had times where I had to step away.

Tight finances, marriage, having children, and other things have had to take priority over the horse thing. I realized that at certain times of my life, horses just were not a possibility in the way I would have liked it to have fit in. Even today, I opt to spend time with my family over riding. Now that I am older, it’s just another phase.