Unlimited access >

How far do you travel to hunt?

I am about 2- 4 hours from any hunt kennels, but it’s something I’d love to get into. Overnighting is an option. Am I crazy for wanting to haul that long for something? I have a hunt protocol class that I plan on hauling up and leaving the same day, so about 8 hours on the road…is this normal for some people? I’m new to traveling longer than 2 hours for horse events.

Not crazy. For 4 hours, I would rather overnight. All will depend on how well your horse travels, and how well your horse handles the hunt. I would prep for travel with electrolytes and 1/4 tube ulcergard a couple days before, day of, and day after. Handwalk after the hunt, ice boots for about 20 minutes, plenty of hay in the trailer.

2 Likes

I have traveled up to 2 hours for hunting and returning the same day. I have gone to hunts that were 3+ hours away and stayed at least one night. Most of the hunts that I’ve been to that were 4+ hours away were multi day hunts (with the same hunt or with ones near by) and I stayed a minimum of 2 nights. Usually going up the night before a hunt and staying to hunt 2 more days, coming home the afternoon after the last hunting day.

I’m sure you could do 4 up, hunt, 4 home. I would be EXHAUSTED!

2 Likes

As you apparently haven’t hunted before, rather than travelling both yourself and your horse how about contacting your nearest kennels and ask about hiring/borrowing a horse for a first go? Dip your toe into the water. Every hunt has a different character due to the terraine they hunt over, the vibe between members, their history and traditions - which is why visiting different hunts is so interesting. Once you have been and had a look, then consider travelling your horse to the people you enjoyed being with the most.

8 Likes

I’m almost embarrassed to say, but less than half a mile. The kennel and clubhouse had been there for a few years before we met them, started riding out and then were asked to join.