Unlimited access >

How fast do professional eventers move up through the levels?

First of all, I have to note that this isn’t a personally relevant question–all of you in this forum are way more advanced than I am–I’ve just done non-competitive cross-country schooling :lol:

However, I’m a writer at work editing my second book and one of the characters is a professional eventer. To avoid one of those ‘hilariously wrong’ mistakes riding books often have I was wondering–for a young, professional rider moving up the levels in eventing, is a year unrealistic to move up a single level, provided he/she had enough financial support, the right horses, ecetera?

I know that for an amateur, btw, moving up any level is an amazing achievement and very few people ever make it to Preliminary because of the distractions of jobs/ ‘only’ having one horse to ride and so forth. But I was just wondering what was the case for professional eventers? (For my own curiosity and interest in the sport as well).

It depends on the horse as well as where they are in that career. I would consider it pretty normal for a good professional with a good green horse (with upper level talent) to follow something like:

Year 1 - a few novices, a few trainings, maybe YEH if horse right age
Year 2 - come out a couple trainings move up to prelim and stay there most of year finishing with a 1* (assuming horse is on the younger side), might move up to intermediate with a more mature horse
Year 3 - come out with a couple prelims then move up to intermediate aiming at a fall 2*
Year 4 - move between intermediate and advanced including completing 2* qualifications, but aim at either a fall CCI3* or 3* early in the next spring (may need to do the CIC***)
Year 5 - cross your fingers and home you are ready and qualifed for Rolex in April