Unlimited access >

How to continue mentally and morally

Hi there,

I have been struggling for a while now trying to hold on to my dreams with my horses, but I am finding myself rather lost these days and not sure how to continue.
I am sorry this might be a lengthy post but I am hoping some of you can share some of your experiences with me.
I’ve been riding for close to 30 years now with a small break while I was in the military. I feel like I never had these problems before my break, maybe because I was young and ignorant.
When I came back in to horses I started going down a slippery slope. I bought a mare that provided me with a hairline fracture in my spine. I sent her off for training and things went well from there. We added a few more horses to the mix but then had to move unexpectedly and I could only bring my young gelding along. I started him under saddle with the guidance of a trainer and everything went great. We had a lot of fun, working on endurance etc but he was a strong horse and hard to ride around other horses so I eventually sold him and got another mare. She was sweet as pie but I had a hard time keeping her eating. We did vet checks etc and I eventually sold her because I thought my weight might be too much. She was a 14h paso mare and my heart and all I wanted for her was to have the best life possible. I then bought a tall stocky TWH but as I put the miles on him he got worse and worse out on the trail. My young daughter was starting to ride with me and I came to the conclusion that he was not a good match. At this point I was feeling like I was the issue and fell into a sort of depression. My friends helped me overcome this and I got back in the saddle.
I purchased my now horse as a 2 week old, thinking that this would allow me to help him grow and build a strong body from the beginning and give me a lot of time to work on my weight and fitness.