Unlimited access >

How to know when your green horse is "confident"

Hi everyone!
I have been working with my gelding for a few months on ground driving, he is also a ridden horse that does trails, etc. He’s overall a very brave boy.

We recently hitched him to the sleigh and he loved it. There was some confusion with pulling in deep snow when “stuck” but he would only back up or not move. He handles pressure well. This is the third horse I have broke to drive.

He’s been hitched three times and seems very confident and to handle things well; he spooked once and handled it very well. He also had a big spook last time (his third hitching) and listened to my whoa and stand despite a very reckless kid. I have never seen him that worked up and he listened great, and we drove after the spook. He’s been driving (with caution on my part) on our treed driveway and in an open type area with ample room to stop if anything came up. He has walked and trotted, is always controllable, and will stop and stand all day.

However, we have been doing this in an open bridle, so I will be starting again with blinders as I just realized how disastrous an open bridle could be, even for a brave ridden horse.

I will add I am a very cautious driver and am very careful of reassuring and keeping my horse under threshold.

My question is… how do I know when this horse is safe to drive out and about and “confident” in harness? I already thought he was (I am of course aware he is green and that I need to be very cautious and strict) but someone just told me he is way too green to even be trotting in harness, so now I am worried about how we are “progressing”.

Do you have any trainer help?

Three times of anything is not enough. I’d want a couple of months with no spooks or setbacks, start recount each time you have a setback. Lots of horses are “good” first few times at something because they are so puzzled or even a bit frozen.

2 Likes