Unlimited access >

Human socializing a terrified mule

I am fairly new to horses but I work to feed and sometimes tack the horses and am pretty comfortable around them. We have a huge mule whose mom is a Clydesdale but who is terrified of everyone. He is free to a good home and I would absolutely love to train him and socialize him (with humans) but I don’t know where to start. Not even the ferrier could touch him. If anyone could give me advice on how to get him not to be terrified of me? I give him a treat every time I see him but he backs up afterwards and doesn’t let me go to his side. Thank you!

This is really something to be cautious with as person with what sounds like relatively little experience. I would advise getting this guy to a good groundwork trainer who can get him started with at least basic handling. You don’t mention who “we” is, so that depends on whether you have such authority. How old is the mule? He should also be gelded if old enough and not done already. Yes, they are functionally sterile but the hormones and behaviors are still there.

5 Likes

I will be very direct here and I do not mean anything offensive by it, but if you need to ask what to do with an animal of this type then he is not the one for you.

A person new to horses will not have the skills necessary to make a mule of this kind a good, SAFE citizen. Of course it can be done, but it requires someone who is very familiar with mules and/or horses and who already has training experience.

Mules are incredibly smart and they study you as you are studying them. Make a wrong move and you could put the training completely backwards, you could be injured, or the mule could be injured.