Unlimited access >

Humane trap and spaying momma

I work as a barn manager at a horse farm. We had somebody stop by and offer the BO kittens or her boyfriend was going to give them swimming lessons. BO asked for pictures. Woman said she would send them. A week later she asked BO if she had thought about the kittens. BO said I never received pictures. Oh yeah right. I will get those to you. Two days later she shows up with the kittens and says you need to take them or I will find a pond or stream. Charming.

BO found homes for all the kittens as they were very friendly. BO also convinced the woman to trap the momma so we can get her spayed. Momma is not so friendly. The day Momma who is now Jenna was dropped off I was supposed to take my 3 to my vet for routine shots. DH could only find 2 so Jenna went instead of Cricket. Jenna was negative for the nasty viruses so she got to live and got a rabies shot. They could not examine her as she was not nice. She was in the back in the clam to the blood draw and the shot.
Tomorrow she goes to a local affordable spay neuter clinic. The clinic has requested she come in a humane trap as she is feral. She is living in my boxspring in a spare bedroom. I drop her off at 7:30 am. Any ideas on when I should put her in the trap? I will not have help in the morning to the night before will be easier but I don’t want her in there too long.

Any idea how to get her in there? Should I put really stinky food and hope she goes in? But how do I get the food out if she doesn’t finish it by midnight? Do I catch her, burrito her and stuff her in? I figure I will need to flip the bed and remove any hiding spots. We have winter coats and welding gloves. At least if we get bitten nobody needs to get rabies shots.