Unlimited access >

Hunt curious

I’ve been riding for 35 years, give or take, and have tried all sorts of things at least once — h/j, polo, dressage, even a little bit of reining. My main discipline is eventing, and while I have ridden at higher levels, I’m currently competing at training. But I have never hunted! I’m curious what skills I’d need to develop to give it a try. I’m a reasonably confident rider, comfortable jumping 3’3 with decent spreads out of a 450-470 meter/minute pace. I ride in the open regularly, but rarely in company. My horse is probably not well suited to hunting so if I were to give this a try, I’d look to hire an experienced horse to show me the ropes. What would I need to consider to be prepared?

1 Like

Where are you located? You’re more than qualified to ride most first fields, I would say, especially if you hire a horse. A good hunt horse will take care of you, they don’t generally like a lot of over management.

Gross generalization, and I’ve never hunted Ireland or GB, but generally the size of fences and the risk taking is a bit less in most of the hunts in the states. Research your local hunts, ask who’s hiring horses, research any hunt habit particularities and open dates, and get out there :slight_smile:

I’ve hunted in the NE and SE US, and if someone with Eventing background, I’d say the only thing I really felt unprepared, for I was turning down drinks as I like to ride sober :joy:

2 Likes

The thing with hunting is you are not riding over a prepared course. That means approaches to jumps can be tricky and trappy. Things you don’t see on an event course. Depending on the hunt, jumps typically don’t get bigger than a training level. It’s about the approach and the landing.

Also you have other people and hounds about. A few hunts ago, we were on a run and coming to a coop when some hounds popped out of the woods about a stride out from the coop. My horse shifted over and still jumped with hounds alongside.