Unlimited access >

Hunter/Jumper Barns Near NYC - Recommendations?

I am graduating college in a week and am relocating up to NYC mid-June for work and unfortunately will not be able to take my horse with me :frowning: I have been riding for 10 years and have shown on the rated and schooling show circuits all over the Southeast both with my own mounts and several times as a catch rider. I exercise a lot of horses for the barns where I ride, so I am in need of a barn that has lesson horses that are able to challenge me and teach me new things.

I am totally new to living up north, as I have lived in the South all of my life, so I feel a little out of the loop with regard to hunter/jumper barns around NYC. I know there are a TON but was wondering if anyone could recommend any to me that are close to the city (Long Island acceptable), have great instruction with lesson horses for an advanced rider, and go to shows.

Please help!! There is no way I can survive long without being back on a horse, so I am hoping for some great suggestions from you guys. Thanks in advance!

Will you have a car? Where (which borough or suburb) will you be living in? How far are you willing to travel?

Also, try a search. There was a thread with quite a few in the last month or so.

I’m in a very similar situation and I’ve been riding with Leah Epstein here: http://www.ithilienstables.com/

It’s a smaller barn and Leah is wonderful. She has a great group of young adult riders from in NYC and people often carpool out so if you don’t have a car and are coming from NYC I’m sure you can find someone to go with.

joiedevie99 - I won’t have a car unfortunately, at least for the first few months :frowning: I am willing to travel up to 75 minutes away for the right situation, but would prefer under an hour away. I will be living in Murray Hill. Thanks!

In the Gate - awesome!! that sounds like a great possibility, and I like that they do carpools from NYC - definitely a huge help for me! thank you!