Unlimited access >

I absolutely love the Albion SL... what similar saddles should I try?

Hi folks,

I’ve been riding in my Klimke Miller saddle for about 20 years now and I’ve been happy riding in it until I discovered it did not fit my horse and I tried an Albion SL. Whoa nelly… I absolutely loved it. My leg naturally lays along my horses side with contact all along my calf. I could actually apply my leg in the sitting trot! In my Klimke I now realize that I was always struggling to support with my entire leg instead of just low calf and heel. My seat also felt so much more locked in, but not in a restrictive way. In the Klimke I have always struggled in keeping my seat even, especially at the canter where my horse tends to lean inside and I find myself sitting to the outside w/ my inside leg flopping about in the stirrup. Like magic, in the Albion that problem is drastically improved!

Unfortunately it is not quite the perfect fit for my horse. The MW tree width is ok, the shoulder panels aren’t quite the right shape and my fitter wasn’t a fan of large gusseted rear panels.

So, I’m looking for suggestions on saddles that will provide a similar feel while riding. My budget is pretty flexible, however i would like something that holds value fairly well and is easily sellable. My guy is 16 so I’ll likely need to re-sell in the next 5 years or so.

> Like magic, in the Albion

Someone once joked that this saddle would add ten points to your dressage score.

It is an SL and not an SLK correct? With a flatter more open seat and knee rolls that are not too enormous?

I have one and love it, except I have lost weight and am now swimming in the 18" seat so I will need to find something else once the pony grows up. You wouldn’t think it would make that much difference, but apparently it does. :confused:

I think what you are feeling is the narrow twist allowing your thigh to fit closer to the horse and your leg to fall naturally down the side.