I want to jump for joy!! Getting over fear...

The Story:
I’m an adult sigh rider who was back in the saddle for about 3 years, inconsistently, when I took two falls that hurt me very badly, and left me with traumatic fear…about mounting. Can’t very well ride if you can’t get on the horse. It got to the point that even leading my horse made me cry and shake if anything went wrong at all. I ended up taking a year and a half off of riding and was considering never riding again (which made me very sad).

I started riding again with the help of a very good local trainer (and xanax). The first month was rough, and took me a lot to get through. The second month has been better, and I’ve started riding MY horse again (who is not the horse I had the falls from - that horse left the barn a long time ago). My horse also had a year and a half off.

This was us this morning…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCuIt4H-D14

Do we look rough? Yep. Do we have areas of improvement? ABSOLUTELY!

But I’m riding again…on an OTTB who is green to arena work (though he’s hunted) who also had a year and a half off - and doing it with no reins to boot :wink:

I want to share my joy with EVERYONE! And know that…it does get better - even with panic attacks and paralyzing fear at the thought of mounting. I’m not 100% through my journey yet (haven’t tackled riding outside yet, nor have I tackled anything tricky) but…it now seems doable.

Thanks for listening…I’m just jumping for joy here…and only horsepeople I think would truly understand.

Yay you!!! It feels great doesn’t it? :smiley:

It is! It’s an amazing feeling…I’m sooo grateful to my trainer and to my sweet sweet horse - he’s the bees knees! He’s getting a big ol’ peppermint wreath for Christmas!

Thanks so much for posting and for the inspiration. GREAT JOB!!!

Yay!

It’s so amazing when you get over a fear hurdle.

Thanks for posting that! Yippee! That is HUGE. And your horse looks like a real sweetie.