Ideas for helping rider learn to post the trot (therapeutic riding; dev. disability)

I’m an instructor at a therapeutic riding program for children.

We have a student, about 10 years old, who has a disorder characterized by poor muscle tone and coordination, obesity, and cognitive disability. The individual in question might also be described as being extremely stubborn and having relatively anhedonia (inability to experience strong positive emotion). We’ll call her Jane.

Jane always has a leader and at least one sidewalker. Usually two sidewalkers. We’ve tried her on various horses of varying sizes (14h-17h) of varying levels of bounciness. She’s always on very, very safe horses, and has excellent helpers, so there’s no risk she’s in any physical danger. It’s just frustrating she can’t seem to advance past the point she’s at right now.

Jane is having serious trouble learning to post the trot. At the walk, she posts beautifully. She has a perfect two-point position. But when trotting, Jane grabs the pommel and PUSHES very hard to “post.” Her toes go down and her legs go floppy. It is entirely an arm-muscle effort to get herself out of the saddle.

The push clearly takes extreme physical effort. Jane grunts, gasps, and occasionally passes gas due to the effort it takes to get herself out of the saddle. She always subsequently slams hard back in the saddle. In all fairness I’ve been riding for twenty years and I’m not sure how well I could post using my arm strength!!

She will sit the trot while holding the pommel to hold herself down. However, she refuses to try and post the trot without grabbing the pommel in a death grip and heaving herself up.

We tried getting her to cross her arms while posting. No dice, she won’t do it. She says she feels “uncomfortable” (I think she means she feels unsafe) using her legs instead of her arms.

Appeals to logic don’t work. Telling her it’s EASIER to post using your legs instead of your arms gets you nowhere. She won’t try.