Ideas needed. First time with individual with special needs

Hello. First post, totally new to the forum.
So this is my first time on my own with my horse providing a ride for a special needs girl who is able to follow instruction. (5th grade level). Any thoughts on exercises I should do with her on the horse? Would trotting in hand be a good idea? I am a professional dressage rider, and teaching is very new to me. Thanks so much for your help :slight_smile:

First, make sure she understands safety rules on the ground, if you have not already. Find out from parental units if there are any physical manifestations of her problem that you need to keep in mind. If she has ridden previously, have her show you what she knows to do and take it from there.
If she has not ridden previously, she will need at least 2 sessions of just walking, practicing her position whilst stopping starting and turning the horse. On 3rd session, in which you should be able to introduce trotting, you ideally would either have the horse on the longe line, or have someone else be leading the horse and step off at a trot with you remaining near the new rider to assist with balance.

What are the ā€˜special needsā€™? Why is she riding your horse? Are you insured? Do you have a liability agreement for her parents to sign? Do you have any experience working with children?
Does she know anything about horsemanship/groundwork? What is she physically capable of doing? What does she want to learn?

I have a lot of experience working with children. No, I am not insured. This is a ā€œone timeā€ thing. From what the mother has told me, she is perfectly capable of following instructions. Physically she is fine as well, some minor muscle tone issues, but that is all. Sheā€™s 23 and operates at a 5th grade level. Down syndrome traits.