Unlimited access >

IEA and College Riding?

Okay people, I have a series of questions! I’m a freshman entering into my sophomore year this upcoming school year. I ride in the hunters and eq with emphasis on the equitation. I’m planning on doing the Maclays next year (we’ll see how that goes :eek:). I was wondering a few things.

1. Is IEA worth the time/price/commitment to get the experience of riding different horses?
  2. Does IEA make a difference if I want to ride in college?
  3. NCAA or IHSA in college?

Thanks so much for your time!

I didn’t do IEA and thus don’t know much about it, but I do know people who showed in it and loved it. They really seemed to enjoy it and felt that it was a lot of fun.

NCAA or IHSA depends on whether you can get recruited or not, for one thing, and what you want to do. I did IHSA when I was in college and had a blast - I’m actually hoping to do it as an alumna once I have more time and money - never did NCAA. The formats are radically different. I loved IHSA, but there were definitely times when “luck of the draw” could be very frustrating, especially since you got NO warm up at all so had no real idea of what you were sitting on. But with that being said, it was some of the most fun that I had in school. I have friends who did NCAA and had a great time with it, but it is hard to get recruited! I remember contacting several coaches when I was looking at colleges and no one even contacted me back (and I was showing successfully in the high junior jumpers at that point).

I think whether you go the NCAA or IHSA route, it’s a lot of fun.

IEA is really fun, I can’t answer your second two questions as I am still in high school as well, but IEA has defiantly helped me grow as a rider and experience different horses.