Unlimited access >

Impact protection for the back of an older horse?

I am currently leasing an 18-year-old Oldenburg mare from the barn I take lessons from, and I ride in a very old (15 years) Stubben saddle. It’s not very comfortable (for me or I assume her from the hardness of the panels) and I’m thinking that landing off of 2’6’’ jumps can’t be too comfortable with my 170 lbs (I’m 6’ tall) pressing into her back.

The saddle fits her fairly well, but I use a fairly thin ‘wither relief’ fleece pad for padding reasons on top of an a/p pad. She goes in this setup fairly well, but I think it would be more pleasant for her to have more shock-absorbent padding. I’ve been looking at the Wilkers memory foam pad, some gel pads, and Thinline pads, but I have no experience with this sort of thing, so what are your recommendations for shock-absorbing pads?

P.S. I’m on a budget so recommendations downwards of $200 would be appreciated.:slight_smile:

I have a thinline trifecta pad and it seems to provide good shock absorbsion. I use it whenever I know I’m going to do a lot of no stirrup work and attempt to sit the trot. I can feel a marked difference in the way my horse moves both with and without it.

You can’t beat sheepskin; http://www.horsehealth.co.uk/lemieux/lambskin-pads/lambskin-gp-jump-numnahs?zenid=e2a1e750c95f35ffa0dac1952197037c

Take a look at Prolite. They are what you are looking for in an half pad with protection. I use it on my 22 year old event horse all of the time.

Second the Prolite–best for impact reduction IMO. Haven’t used one on a horse that didn’t like it–all my horses go in one and seem to prefer it to sheepskin or thin line. And they’re not terribly expensive. Like around $130, so in your budget.