Unlimited access >

Importing from the Czech Republic off a video?

I found on a horse on a video that I am in love with. Price is very reasonable. Her breeding is my fav. If you have had any experience with buying from Martin Leh please send me a private message or post your experience. Thank you!

I have no experience importing off video. However everything Iā€™ve read here suggests that many younger a European horses are not yet really broke to the standards a North American amateur would need and expect at that level. They are often quite green but ridden around by very good pros who can package them up.

I think the cost of living or exchange rate makes horses out of the Czech Republic more affordable. But I am not sure what regulations or registry are like. Horse breeding is quite regulated in Germany and Holland. The Czech Republic was behind the Iron Curtain until the late 1980s when the Soviet block fell. They donā€™t have the long tradition of well regulated warmblood breeding that people seek in Western Europe.

2 Likes

No experience personally, or with the name mentioned.
But a friend imported a 4yo from Czech Republic based on the video & horse is now 6 & doing very well.on the East Coast/New England circuit. Several Reserves to his name.
Credit goes to my friend, the rider - who is a very talented now-Ammy (had a small business training back in the early 90s, catchrode for some local BNTs & then AA trainers).

OP: if youā€™re interested, I can ask where the horse came from

2 Likes

Iā€™d suggest you or a trusted friend/agent to at least go and look at the horse in person. I wouldnā€™t buy off a video again.
You can do a FB search with his name or ask directly for feedback on the US horse groups (I read recently good reviews about another Cz breeder there).