Unlimited access >

In a sale, what percentage should the trainer get? The owners?

I thought this would be a good place to ask this question.

I’m about to move this horse to a new location to prep him to be sold. I’ve been working with him on and off for about 3 years. I’m the only one who has worked with him. The owners are not involved in his training at all. They just pay for his care. He doesn’t get any supplements or special shoeing or anything. Basically bare bones care. Just hay and grain and whatnot and the occasional farrier visit.

Right now he is not ride-able but once I move him to this new and better location, we can put him on a program where he gets solid at W/T/C and becomes less spooky. When I first started working with this horse he would not let you touch him.

The new place I’m moving him to, I will be handling all expenses.

So all that being said, I’m wondering what percentage of the sale price I should take (as the trainer) and what percentage the owners should get? This is my first time facilitating a sale.

well, from what I’ve seen a trainer will take anywhere from nothing to 15% on a sale, depending on the situation. This does not involve any training or expenses.

Your situation sounds a little more involved-are the owners going to be paying you for your training time (however long that takes) and why are you paying for expenses? Are you thinking you should get a bigger piece of the sales pie as “reimbursement” for your work/out of pocket expenses? I would want to work that out with the owners before facilitating the sale.

I am having trouble seeing how you will get ahead with this…he doesn’t sound like a high value/quick sale…, but what I have done with training sales, is set a base amount the owner will get, and then split anything over and above that 50/50. Of course in these instances the owners were paying for feed, vet and farrier, so my investment was time and advertising…sounds like you are investing more than that.