Unlimited access >

Insurance for a Lease

Curious if anyone would be willing to share their insurance clause for an off farm lease?

In the past I have just had the leaser carry insurance with me named on the policy, but have reconsidered changing it to have the leaser pay me the yearly insurance cost upfront and just keep the policy in my name.

This area is a bit grey for me, so thankful for any advice.

I’ll preface that I have no direct experience with this, but I think having the leaser pay you for the insurance cost is probably the safest way to go.

I have heard horror stories of leasors claiming to have insurance, but not actually getting it. Or having insurance for a month or two to “prove” they got it, and then cancelling it. Or not ensuring there’s continuity and in the couple of days between their own policy ending and the owner taking out a new policy at the end of the lease, the horse gets injured, etc. Just manage the policy for them so that way you know for a fact that the horse is covered.

5 Likes

This times 100

2 Likes

Thank you; this is my thought with it too. I keep reading scary tales of the leasor opening a policy then cancelling or letting it lapse and I’m thinking it would just be easier and safer to have it included in the lease price and policy kept in my name.

1 Like

It’s best to have them pay you for the insurance. Id just include it in the lease price. Not only is there always the possibility they just don’t pay for it after the first few months, but also it can be a total pain for your Leaser to get it when they aren’t the owner.

I lease out a horse, it’s a free lease and he’s worth about $0 so I didn’t require any insurance on him. My Leaser wanted to get medical insurance on him, and doing that just about broke the company’s mind. They called me 4-5 times trying to confirm that she hadn’t stolen my horse and was going to run some sort of insurance scam on me and them.

1 Like