Unlimited access >

Internal fencing for rotational grazing

I want to use electric fences to divide my 4 acre pasture into three areas for rotational grazing and for rehabbing a marshy section. The perimeter fence is 5’ high four-board wood. I have two ~17hh warmbloods and a mini donkey turned out together in there (they are stabled overnight in winter and during the day in summer). The two horses have been around electric before. The donkey probably has too but I’ll make sure to introduce everyone to the new setup properly. I have no experience with temporary or electric fencing and no clue where to start as far as choosing materials.

1. What are the pros and cons of plastic vs. fiberglass step-in posts? I have some plastic ones I used for other purposes but they bent like crazy after one windy day. On the other hand, people complain about fiberglass shards–could that actually hurt the horses or is it only a problem if you try to move them without wearing gloves?

2. Should I shell out for longer posts? 48" minus whatever ends up in the ground is pretty low. My older horse has a history of jumping 4’ fences because the grass was greener on the other side. Will the electricity generally be a deterrent to jumping too? It’s not a huge safety issue because the perimeter fence would keep them in, but it would be annoying to invest in and install the fence, then find it useless except as to the donkey. I also wouldn’t want anyone to get tangled during a failed jump.

3. I’m planning to use electric tape based on past bad experience with wire. Is 1" okay to reduce wind resistance and the resulting wear on the posts? The 2" variety is stronger but I don’t think tensile strength matters all that much because if a horse does try to go through the fence I’d rather have the tape break than tangle. Am I wrong about that? Anything else I should consider? Electrobraid?