Unlimited access >

Is it time for me to leave the horse world?

I started riding when I was 5 years old. I (for the most part, not including one year of “barn bouncing”) have been at the same stables since then. It is the cheapest in the area and one of the only places I’ve found where I can grow as a rider without owning my own horse.
I guess it’s the drama that’s killing me. Horse people tend to have big mouths, at least in my experience. Lately it has become unbearable. I have coworkers and older people coming up and telling me what so and so said about me, what I need to do differently in MY lesson program, that if I want to make a living to get out of horses.
I have passion for horses. However, over the past few years, pretty much since my parents stopped funding my riding habit, I’ve lost the heart for the sport. I work at the same place where I grew up learning to ride. Most of my friends have moved on from this place. I believe I’m paid unfairly. I know I’m treated unfairly by my trainer, who of course gives the majority of her attention to her wealthy clients.
I know most people would say just go to a different barn, but I did try that and other places don’t stack up, either economically or in quality. I’m wondering if this should be it for me.
Please no ride comments. I’m having such a hard time dealing with this on its own.