Unlimited access >

Jumper or Eventing Farms near Winston Salem/Greensboro, NC area?

I recently moved to Winston Salem, NC, and I’m looking to hopefully find a barn manager position. I’ve been riding for 9+ years, and I have the most experience in jumpers (although I have some in hunters and eventing as well). Anyone know of any good barns in the area or places to look? Thanks!

Welcome to Winston! There aren’t many eventing/jumper barns around here to be honest-much more hunter barns. I personally go to Deerwood farm, which is a hunter/equitation based barn. There is also Hidden K, which is out in Pfafftown. They do some eventing, but apparently they aren’t that good (?) they just have a bad rep for some reason. Irish Oaks is also in Winston , but I never hear much about them.

If you’re willing to drive, there are plenty of barns within a 45min-1hr radius of Winston. Other than that, it’s mainly hunter barns or really small middle-of-nowhere barns. I’m not too sure if we have an opening at Deerwood, but I can ask. Good luck finding a barn, and when you do, please tell me where it is! I’m desperate for a good eventing barn!!

Here are some more, never heard of them though, and I have been living here my whole life!! Cloud’s Harbor, Karver’s Creek Farm (mainly dressage), Apple Wood. Also, here’s a local tack store’s list of stables: http://www.purgasons.com/stables.html
http://www.tackonwheels.com/directory__new__

Ah I used to live in the area and was actually a trainer at a local barn for a few years. Are you looking more in the Winston or Greensboro area? Are your goals the A shows or more local stuff??

Clouds Harbor is excellent but $$$ and aimed more for the hunters.

There’s Torihope Farm in Greensboro which is a few blocks away from the Sedgefield showgrounds. Their trainer is excellent but is also more of an A show barn.