Unlimited access >

Jumper Prospect, club foot?

I am looking into this horse as a future jumper (3’3-3’9) potential. I was taking a closer look at his photos and realized he may have some club feet. I am not very educated regarding club feet and so it is hard for me to tell if they even are.

So two questions:

1. Are they club feet?
  2. Would you pass?

Pictures:

I’m no foot expert but I find it hard to determine as he’s not standing on a firm flat surface. Hard to determine if he’s in a rut or not standing in the sand.

You will not know whether there is any true clubbing without a vet and xrays, especially from these photos.

Is he sound for the job he’s doing now? If so, for how long has he been sound? Is the job he’s doing now the job you want him to do? Where is he in the price range of other horses that do this job?

Clubbed foot or not - those are the questions I’d want the answers to to decide if I’d pass. In an adult horse, a history of soundness while doing its job is very valuable, and unless you have a big budget you might need to accept a horse with flaws.

Club feet do not bother me at all if the horse is sound and performing on them. That includes if it raced and stayed sound if looking at OTTBs. Get the best farrier you can and keep it on a six week or less shoeing cycle and I’ve never had any issues arise from them IF they are not causing any problems currently.

There are a lot of things that I do consider red flags that others don’t mind, but club feet are not one of my personal reasons to nix an otherwise suitable horse. I am sure opinions on this will vary wildly.

By “prospect” do you mean it is not currently Jumping anything near the 1.1m or so you are selecting him for? Has he raced or done other hard, regular work staying sound over a long period of time?