Keep rider's foot in english stirrup

Hi Everyone -
I have been so appreciative of everyone’s help in the past - and I’m back for more! I am a NARHA certified instructor and have extensive experience with teaching able-bodied students in the past - but I am the only instructor at my center that works on riding skills. The rest work more recreational riding. The students I work with are the only ones who are interested to work towards independent riding. So while I am blessed to be there - there isn’t much of a sounding board.

I have a student with right side weakness/hemiplegic (I’ve posted for other help in the past) Her hamstrings on one side are contracted - and thus getting her heels level with her toes is a big accomplishment. (Heels ‘down’ has not been able to be achieved yet, and may not happen) While this has not presented a significant problem in the past, now that she is trotting she is having problems with her stirrup on that one side. One of two things happens:

1. She loses the stirrup
  2. The stirrup wedges itself on her arch.

The second is a safety problem - she gets so tightly wedged that, in the event of a fall, her foot could not come out of the (safety) stirrup.

Any tack/equipment suggestions? I vaguely remember someone mentioning off-handedly, years ago, using rubber bands.

How about those magnetic stirrups advertised on the right hand side of the forum (SmartPak I think). Has anyone tried those? For a case like this it might be helpful.

OnTyte

They are called OnTyte. And you can see them at www.ontyte.com They are at Dover and a number of other shops.

I have fallen off a number of times and the system has not caused any issues. In fact my feet came out cleaner because my foot had not gone in and several times before On Tyte my unweighted stirrups had let my foot go farther in during the fall causing my toe to catch. I think these are exactly what you are looking for.