L5-S1 disc herniation and saddle fitting for the rider....

I’ve been fighting back pain for a couple months, and just found out it is due to a herniated disc at L5-S1 :frowning: Riding has not been particularly uncomfortable to date, in fact its way more comfortable than sitting in a desk chair. But still the Dr. says no more riding until the he clears it. But he knows that my priority is to get back in the saddle.

So, I’ve been perusing the forum over lunch, and noticed that a lot of people have mentioned that the right saddle has helped them out tremendously. I’ll acknowledge first thing that everyone is different, and trial and error is going to be key… But I am wondering if there are common traits possessed by the saddles that people with low back issues find comfortable?

I’ve seen reference to ancient passiers, no thigh blocks/knee rolls, shallow seats, thinline pads, jointed stirrups…

What do you do to help your back pain in terms of tack/tack modification?

Were there specific things that you found should be avoided?

My discs weren’t fully herniated, but were bulging and in the same region as yours (L5-S1, L4-L5, L3-L4) so I thought I would mention that in case there are some differences.

Other than using jointed stirrups (I have MDCs that you can also adjust the eye), there were not general traits about saddles that worked/didn’t work. I know that Wintecs and my back DO NOT get along anymore, so I stayed away from them when looking for saddles.

What I do know that seems to work for me are Black Country saddles. I’ve tried several models, jumping and dressage, and all of them felt ok with my back.

I think in general, I prefer something with a slightly wider seat, cushioning, and a little more block to help keep my leg secure.

I know that’s not the exact answer you wanted, but I hope it helps at least a little :).

Good luck and hope you feel better!