Unlimited access >

Lameness diagnosis?

[B]My horse has been lame, and we are unable to make a diagnosis yet. I was wondering if anyone has seen the same issues in their horse, so that I might have an idea what is going on.

I rode my gelding a couple Fridays ago (Jan. 31), and he was wonderful. Rode him again that Sunday, and he was slightly off on his front right, but it was only when he would be going in smaller circles to the right. He had just had his shoes re-set recently, so I figured he was just a little sore, that maybe he was trimmed a little too short. I am a student at Purdue, so I was going to be going back to campus for the week of classes which is about an hour and a half away. I figured that a few days of rest would solve it and that he would be fine when I returned that Friday. The vet was out on that Thursday to draw blood for his coggins, and told me that he wasn’t putting any weight on that front right. She diagnosed it as a possible hot nail/abscess, and my farrier came out that next day, pulled the shoe and checked each nail hole, didn’t find any sign of pain. He used his hoof testers on him, nothing. He didn’t have any swelling, no digital pulse, nothing. He ended up putting the shoe back on, but didn’t put any nails in the last four spots on his heel.