Lawsuit filed re: death of jumper near Aiken

This is pretty horrifying. Allegedly the horse was found dead, tied to the stall with a rope halter because he refused to load to go to a show and hung himself. Just a heads up to anyone in that area that may encounter this trainer/farm- Shannon Eckel of Hat Trick Sporthorses. (I have no personal knowledge of her or the situation, simply sharing the news article that I saw.)

2 Likes

OMG, that’s heartbreaking.
I just took a quick scan through the article but didn’t see anything about animal cruelty charges? It specifically mentions being deprived of food and water along with the way he was tied. I would imagine no access to water – in July, no less – should’ve raised some questions.

If the owner’s account is accurate, how some people sleep at night is beyond me. Though sadly, over the years, I’ve known more than one person I could see getting frustrated enough over a horse not loading to leave one like this

11 Likes

Well, that’ll teach him not to get on the trailer! Ugh.

19 Likes

For non-subscribers: https://news.yahoo.com/lawsuit-filed-following-death-horse-235500771.html

It’s infuriating that this crap still goes on!!!

7 Likes

Exactly. So this is how that “trainer” thinks? This is how they believe they’re making some kind of point with a horse? Yeah, that Irish sport horse sure learned its lesson.

Sweet baby Jesus. What a completely avoidable tragedy.

20 Likes

That an alleged Professional acted like this is proof this country needs some sort of licensing system for horse trainers or anyone accepting payment for their care.
Yes, BOs included.
So, much, STOOPID the horses pay for.

28 Likes