Leading with one arm/heimplegia/hemiparesis

Hello everyone - I’m interested in hearing from riders who have one arm, hemiparesis, or hemiplegia. I am a NARHA certified riding instructor and have a student with hemiparesis in her right side. She is doing well riding and it is time for her to become more independent with the grooming/tacking/leading aspect of horsemanship.

My question is this - with the right side having hemiparesis, her ‘strong’ arm is holding the bight, or loose end, of the reins when leading. She does not have nearly as much control because her hand is further away from the horse. Do you think it would be helpful OR harmful to have her lead from the horse’s right side? That way her strong arm could be closest to the head. (Horse is safe and appropriate to lead from either side.)

I, of course, will ask for the rider’s input, but thought I would pose it here first for addition input, experience, or ideas.

I would think that if the horse is OK being led from either side that she might feel more comfortable having her stronger arm closer to the horse.

I was relegated to use of only my left arm for awhile when I obliterated my right elbow and had surgery to put it back together (I’m right handed, so the right arm is my dominant one). It also took time to get my strength back in that arm even when I was allowed to start using it.

When I was coming back to the barn, I was clearly lacking in a lot of strength and coordination in my right arm. So, I led my horse from his right side having my left hand closest to him. I felt much stronger and safer that way, and only when I felt my right arm was strong enough to handle it did I go back to leading on the other side.

I just had my hardware removed from my elbow, and while it feels much stronger this time than when the hardware went in, I will still probably start out leading from the “off” side until I really feel that my right arm is truly dominant again.