Unlimited access >

Lessons in Florida?

I’m currently a student in Tallahassee, FL, but will soon be relocating south. I want to go ahead and begin my search for a lesson program!

For now, I just want to see what’s out there – Ocala area, Palm Beach County (Wellington), anywhere in between.

I’ve been riding for a decade, but am new to quality H/J instruction! I think my main interest lies in the jumpers, but I wouldn’t mind taking a few hunter or even dressage lessons either for the sake of trying it out… What I’m really searching for is the highest quality instructors who are willing to work with relative novices (been there done that with learning-and-unlearning poor instruction in the reining world, etc.)

I’m eager to be more involved in the south FL equestrian community and willing to put in the time, energy, and money needed!

Your options are pretty much limitless when it comes to Wellington/Palm Beach. Honestly. Alan Korotkin is here pretty much year-round and would probably be a decent option. But really you just need to google riding instruction/horse trainers in south florida and you’ll get more options than you can shake a stick at.

Thanks! My difficulty has been picking out instructors who are both knowledgeable AND willing to work with novices – which is really understandable, honestly!! I’m just hoping I’ll luck out!

Also figuring out who’s here year-round and who’s not, as you mentioned.

There are many wonderful trainers, big and small, in Florida. Once you decide where you are going COTH can be an excellent resource for you. Most trainers are willing to work with novices, we all start out there so a good trainer will be more than willing to help you progress. :yes: