Unlimited access >

LLC-how, why, and when?

So I’m starting to get back to showing more and I’m curious about the role of creating an LLC. Business wise I understand it allows you to separate work and home financially so no one can attack your other assets through a business…but why do some people who show create an LLC? And how would you go about doing that? I am meeting with a lawyer to speak about this but I want to have some background or more info before I march in there sounding silly.
Currently I work for a farm that is rather lower scale and I have been expanding the program very quickly. The riders are getting more advanced, we’re getting in some nicer horses, and we’re starting to show. The owners of the farm in order to keep me there are offering the possibility to create an LLC piggybacking off their business to create my own little show program. Fabulous opportunity but I don’t even know where to start. I’m an extremely young professional and this is really only my first year as a full fledged professional/head trainer. What’s a good place to start? Does anyone know of any good resources for me to take a look at?

A good place to start is the website for the Secretary of State in the state where you are located. You will need to register with the state by filing your articles of organization and have an operating agreement. From there, things vary. It also may depend on whether you are using your name in a single-member LLC or using a trade name. Some states require the trade names be registered separately.

Some amateurs have LLCs for various reasons, some of them being tax related if you opt to be taxed as a corporation. But it sounds like you are a professional. Whether part time or full time (but especially if part time and you have significant assets/income outside of your horse activities), you want an LLC to shield those assets and yourself from personal liability.