Unlimited access >

Long Shot - Anyone Have Experience with Horse Care in Asia??

I travel back and forth from Cambodia (and have lived there for the past 3 years) and I met a Khmer gentleman who is passionate about developing horse sport (and sport in general) in Cambodia.

I’ve been helping him for the past 3 years to get a stable started but I find I am at a loss for some of the feed and health issues we face here. I research of course but sometimes it’s nice to have someone’s firsthand experience and advice. We are very limited for resources and though there is an organization that works here that trains veterinarians, there’s still a long way to go.

So…long shot…but I need nutritional information. We don’t have hay; they’re growing grasses but it’s not enough. We don’t have access to a pelleted grain. My friend wants to develop endurance sport here which I have absolutely no background in (HJ background) but the horses are malnourished and the heat alone is difficult for such a demanding discipline. We need to add something to the diet to help with maintaining weight (corn oil???). We also need to increase the salt intake of all of the horses. However, there is no option to hop over to the local tack shop and pick up a few salt blocks. Options? Fibre is an issue also.

I’ve read a bit about rice bran (which we have LOADS of access to) but it needs to be stabilized to prevent fermentation and we don’t have the facilities (or the know how) to do that.

I’ve also done a bit of research on mung beans but I’m a little overwhelmed at my lack of knowledge not only in what is available here but what horses really need. I confess I have simply relied on what the feed companies sell in Canada and not thought much about the basic ingredients going into it.

There’s also a ton of different parasites here and illnesses that don’t match up with illnesses I’ve ever seen in North America but perhaps that is another topic altogether.