Unlimited access >

Looking for a Barn in the Arlington or Alexandria Virginia aria

Hi!
I’m moving to the Washington DC aria in the very near future. I am currently a trainer in Florida and would like to find a show Barn to keep my Hunter at. Nice friendly environment is a must!! Any Recomendations?
I’m also curious in finding a barn to teach at (could bring my school ponies) or ride for or maybe a nice tack store to work at :slight_smile: any information about riding in the Arlington, Fairfax, Alexandria area would be great!
Thank you!

You better look outside the city, Aldie, Middleburg, Leesburg area, or even MD and be ready to commute. It totally depends on what area of NOVA you live in as to what the best area for you to board at. Traffic is insane here. I moved here in Sept. I don’t know of any boarding barns in the areas you have listed. I will say though you need to schedule a trip to the Galloping Grape and Sibbys BBQ in Warrenton. It is worth the drive.

If you find something let me know! I’m moving to Arlington at the end of this month and planning on having my horse an hour north. Couldn’t really find anything suitable nearby.

What barn are you boarding your horse at?

If you’re looking for somewhere to board out of and work as a professional, be prepared to lease/buy/run your own place.

There is no boarding in Arlington or Alexandria. The last place in Alexandria was Woodlawn, and that was taken out by the expansion of Route 1 the other year. There may be a few small private facilities on the south edge towards Fairfax/Prince William, but no “show barns.”

I think Rokeby in McLean and Stoneridge in Great Falls are both Fairfax county. They’re probably the closest-in in Virginia that do showing. If you keep going out towards Leesburg or Middleburg/The Plains, you’ll have too many options to list.