Unlimited access >

Looking for a Retirement Facility in Eastern Massachusetts

Sadly I need to retire my 12 year old dressage mare who has had one suspensory problem after another for the past 4 years. I am fairly new to the south shore of Massachusetts and would ideally like to put her somewhere I can see her regularly in the eastern part of the state. If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

After looking into this I am beginning to think it would be more cost effective in this past of the country to find a smallish barn with full board and limited amenities that doesn’t mind an absentee owner versus a retirement barn…

Are you on Facebook? There is a group called “ISO stalls in New England/New York/New Jersey” and people are a wealth of information…good luck to you and your girl!

I grew up on the south shore, and while things have changed a lot I would imagine your best bet is someone who keeps a retired horse at home and wants a companion. A friend here in the Midwest moved to the Worcester area recently and actually left her old guy here, instead of moving him, because she didnt have the connections to find an affordable boarding arrangement for a retired guy.

since my mare needs at least 4 months of a controlled environment (stall rest and small med paddock for a little turnout) i am thinking of putting her at a boarding barn that is close to my home that has a stall with an in/out small paddock attached to the stall. she is not ready for a full retirement situation until she has time to heal from this latest injury (avulsion fracture, high suspensory). i’m hoping i will connect with folks locally who can help with a local retirement situation when she’s ready for being turned out.

[QUOTE=Jumper_Princess1988;8175876]
Are you on Facebook? There is a group called “ISO stalls in New England/New York/New Jersey” and people are a wealth of information…good luck to you and your girl![/QUOTE]