Unlimited access >

Looking for advice: Horse care professional looking for position

Good Afternoon,
I’m looking for some advice if anyone has a moment. I’m planning on moving to Denver within the next month for a position at a real estate company (I’m a recent graduate). And I’m looking for a caretaker position with full care in exchange for residence. My schedule will be completely flexible and I’ll be able to handle both am and pm feedings, barn maintenance, basic medical needs etc.

I’ve been involved with horses for 14 years. I’ve owned three of my own, worked as an equine guide, worked with a hippotherapy company, and I’ve also worked as a caretaker for a professional show barn. I have great references and a great network out east but I’m having a really hard time finding someone who needs this kind of care around Denver.

I’m not sure How to go about finding families or small barns that need this help in exchange for board. Can anyone help point me in the right direction? Thank you so much!! I really really appreciate it!!

I am not from the area so it’s hard for me to give specifics. Here’s where I would look though.

Local Feed/Tack shops
Yardandgroom.com
Facebook Groups
Colorado Horse Park
Local H/J and show circuits

Post ads, spread the good word, be willing to compromise. Make sure you have references ready, be prepared to show them, and surely you’ll find a place!

I would expect such positions to be rather rare anywhere.

There could also be regional differences in how people with land and horses arrange their lives. In our metro area, we only have smaller acreages (up to maybe 20 acres). People who own acreage and a few horses would tend to live on the acreage and do their own work, therefore not needing a caretaker. If they need or want to cut down on the workload, they’d do pasture board, something low maintenance.