Unlimited access >

Looking for equestrian club near central NY

Hello,
I’m moving to the US soon and looking for a place to ride that is not too far a commute (as in less than 2 hours driving or train from central New York City) and most importantly is good to their horses.

I was told that is is common practice for equestrian schools to “medicate” their horses to keep them mellow for their inexperienced riders. That horrified me.

So I’m asking for recommendations please. I don’t want to ride a drugged or abused horse and I am a novice rider so I can’t always tell.

I ride English on flatwork - still mustering the guts to jump - but am open to any kind of riding so long as there’s no abuse of horses.

Many thanks!

I know the owners of Blackhorse Equestrian Center in Bethany, CT which is about just under two hours from NYC (about 90 miles)

You might wish to contact them, they are good people

http://www.blackhorsecenter.com/index.htm

Central New York State or New York City? If CNY the city you will be living in would be helpful as its a pretty big area…and you’d be looking at a car ride as there aren’t any trains that run local, they are for more long distance travels upstate.

There are no trains in central NY…

You’ll need to give us a city, NY state is HUGE and the Central NY area can be a 4 hour drive across.

[QUOTE=Darcy;8870972]
Hello,
I’m moving to the US soon and looking for a place to ride that is not too far a commute (as in less than 2 hours driving or train from central NY) and most importantly is good to their horses.

I was told that is is common practice for equestrian schools to “medicate” their horses to keep them mellow for their inexperienced riders. That horrified me.

So I’m asking for recommendations please. I don’t want to ride a drugged or abused horse and I am a novice rider so I can’t always tell.

I ride English on flatwork - still mustering the guts to jump - but am open to any kind of riding so long as there’s no abuse of horses.