Unlimited access >

Looking for Guidance on How to Help a Baby OTTB Maintain the Canter.

Hello, I’ve asked for help with this OTTB before but she’s 6 years old and only 6 months off the track. She belongs to the barn I ride at but my trainers having me help him with her since he broke his wrist and can’t ride right now. Unfortunately for some reason the barn has him on vacation until his wrist is fully healed so I have been trying to help train this horse with little to no help and I’m a bit stressed I’m going to mess her up. (There are other trainers at the barn but I’m in south Korea and don’t speak Korean and none of the other trainers speak English and when you do manage to ask via google translate two people have told me to get a crop and hit her. Which is not the solution, plus she’s so sensitive holding a crop would probably have her launch us into the sun.) I have been riding for 20 years and am very good at the basics but I’ve also never trained a horse before. We’ve been working a lot on leg and seat aids and I can get her to turn nicely and transition and halt with only barely touching her mouth. ( She is extremely soft in the mouth so this was a priority for me.) She is very smart and picks things up quickly and has a lovely walk and very steady rhythmic trot. The thing is she can’t hold a canter on the turn at all.
She has a nice canter on the straightaway of the arena but falls out of it as soon as you hit a turn. I’ve tried doing canter on the straight and trot on the turns to at least build up her strength but her trot falls apart when she falls out of the canter and I don’t want to ask her for a transition until we’ve regrouped. She also has a lot more trouble picking up a canter from a trot than a walk. She is a very narrow horse and needs to wear brush boot s pretty much constantly as to not injure herself but I don’t think that’s the issue since it doesn’t seem to effect any other gates.