Unlimited access >

Looking for some advice on shipping my horse

I am moving to El Paso, Texas and I am planning on shipping my horse from south Florida to Anthony, NM. I have no experience with shipping companies or what I need to looking for and how to prepare him and what to pack with him when they ship him, and if I need to get equine insurance for the trip. Would anyone know how much it will cost as well? Any advice will be very helpful.

A quick search in the forums will provide a lot of threads on the topic of long-distance hauling. A commercial hauler will be the most comfortable, but it’s typically the most expensive (aside from air travel). You’ll have to reach out to the different companies for quotes, price depends on your timeline and what stall configure you would like. Most professional haulers carry their own liability insurance.

Personally, I recently shipped my horse cross-country from SC to WA. Box stall on air-ride semi. It took about 4 days and she got gastroguard the week leading up to, during, and 1 week after travel. Grain won’t be given en-route but they can feed your hay (in lieu of hay they provide). You’ll also need to provide a health certificate completed w/in 30 days of travel and a negative coggins.

Here are a couple of commercial companies you can reach out to for quotes:
Brookledge
Creech Transport
Equine Express
Bob Hubbard
Johnson Horse

There is also a facebook group called “Hitch your horse a ride” where you could get quotes as well.

3 Likes

The good shippers (see list in previous post) will have lots of info on their website. Equine Express has a good FAQs page.

1 Like

@tatertots thank you.

I’ve spent lots of time riding in El Paso because my trainer was located there and I lived in Las Cruces! The mountains are beautiful and purple at sunset! You and your horse will love the lack of humidity.