Unlimited access >

Looking to Ride in Boston Area!

Hello! I am a lifelong rider who just moved to Boston, MA. Adjusting to city life has been great except for one thing: I am having serious riding withdrawal! If someone could help me to find a barn to lesson at or connect me up with someone looking for a free exercise rider I would be incredibly grateful. However, my biggest problem is that I do not currently have a car so I need to find a place accessible by the T, bus, or commuter rail. I am willing to travel upwards of an hour each way for the right situation, though!

About me: I am a 22-year-old teacher and I have been riding since I could walk (I’m about to hit the 2 decade mark! :slight_smile: ) I competed in H/J and eventing (through training level) in high school and rode on my college’s IHSA teams in both hunter eq and western pleasure. I have my colors with the Iroquois Hunt in Lexington, KY- I have experience whipping in and I’ve ridden many different hunt horses varying from old schoolmasters to babies off the track! Right now I would love to find a situation where I could help keep a horse in shape by coming out to ride once or twice a week. I am also interested in taking lessons but due to my teacher salary I have a limited budget. I would also be interested in working as a groom for weekend competitions in the area- I have experience grooming for a Prix St. George rider. I can PM you with references and/or photos if you think we could set something up!!!

Unfortunately, I don’t think there are any stables accessible by public transportation from Boston since Blue Hills Riding Center closed. I would suggest carpooling (check with the college equestrian teams) or renting Zipcar. Several years ago, I put together a directory of stables near Boston (Local Barns and Suburban Stables) here-
http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/Boston_Equestrian/links

Hopefully someone still in Boston will have better/more current tips. Good luck!