Unlimited access >

Losing my love for the sport

Hey guys.
I wanted some advice on what to do next. I have been riding for a couple years now and the last few weeks just hasn’t been the same. At the beginning of show season I was so confident and doing great I was getting champ and reserve champ every show. I don’t know what happened but I don’t enjoy riding like I used to, I have no confidence and I don’t believe in myself. Nothing has changed to make me lose my confidence I don’t believe. The only 2 things that have happened in the past couple months is a bad fall off another horse that made me almost break my nose but I was fine after that and still enjoyed riding. The last show with the mare I lease went really bad we got disqualified every round for refusals. And I think we were both just having an off day, the mare I lease is 19 yrs old and the most seasoned horse at my barn.
I just hate riding now and because of having no confidence it’s causing my mare to stop in front of fences which has definitely just made my confidence worse lol.
I don’t want to lease anymore and I sent a message to my coach last night to let her know I’m ending my lease. Last nights lesson just consisted of her stopping at jumps and my coach telling me it’s all my fault and any horse would do this if I were riding it.

I’m really sorry you and mare have been having a bad time.

I’m not a trainer or a coach. But it seems to me that you’re burnt out.
It also seems that you need to take a step back and regroup and refocus.

Is showing and winning all you want out of your riding? I imagine not, because that is only such a tiny tiny aspect of horsemanship.
Is jumping all you and mare do in your time together? Do y’all ever hack out around the farm? Go on a trail ride? Just hang out together, maybe you giving mare a spa day? Do you have other friends at the barn you ride with for fun?