Unlimited access >

Low Maintenance/Durable Breeds/Types of Horses?

I’m new to this, but I’m looking for a couple of tough horses to let roam and graze the pastures of my family’s 150 acre ranch in Bonham, Texas (hot and dry climate). We live an hour away in Dallas, but we visit the ranch often and have a long-time neighbor there who uses our land for grazing his cattle and he checks on our animals.
Our old ornery Bay Quarter Horse, Joey, recently passed away. Joey did have a colic scare at one point and became overweight, but he lived a long life on our ranch.

I’ve looked into many breeds but there is limited information online. Price isn’t an issue, we just want the right type of horses for the situation.

Looking for a horse breed that:
Can handle Texas heat (temps up to 100F)
Has sturdy hooves and legs
Minimal risk of health issues
Is good for trail riding
Trots and Canters

Proper medical care, hoof care, shelter, and fresh water is a given, they just won’t be kept in stalls or supervised daily.

Other Questions:
What nutrients do horses need that a grass diet alone won’t provide? How are those provided?
What are some tips for keeping these horses at a healthy weight?
How to prevent foundering?
How often do they need to be checked on?
Should we test our grass?
Tips on a proper diet for them?
Any helpful books/articles/websites/manuals that you guys would suggest?

I know this is a lot of information, but any type of feedback is helpful!