Lunging techniques for one handed riders...

I am a riding instructor who has a rider who has limited-to-no control or use of one hand. This rider will need to learn some lunging/long-lining techniques. Do you have any suggestions, tips, techniques, modifications that are helpful and safe? I have a number of horses to use who are safe, well-trained, school-horses who would typically be safe to try modified equipment/techniques with.

I would appreciate any links to info which might help.

I appreciate any insight! :slight_smile:

I’ve had to lunge 1 handed before, the hardest part is holding the lunge whip and line in 1 hand. Its doable, but takes some practice to find a comfortable way to do.

Could you teach any of the horses to respond to voice commands for lunging so she just needs to hold the lunge line?

I know of riders who are not able to grasp their reins and a whip simultaneously who wear an upper-arm cuff to which the whip is attached. That way, they are able to use the whip by basically clapping the upper arm against their side.
Does the rider have use of his/her forearm? If so, you could probably use the same cuff/whip combo to put the lunge whip on the arm with no hand.
… Of course, you’d have to get even more creative to go the other direction…
Maybe you could figure out a way to use su

My left hand has very limited use. A brace helps me have more use of it. I cannot use a full sized lunge whip. I use the short lunge whip offered by SmartPak. When I have bad days, I do not have the ability to use a whip. At first, I would have a whip person, but I have since taught my horses voice commands. They actually now “up the pace” when I say “MORE” or cluck. I generally prefer to say more, as a cluck often leads to too much forward.