Unlimited access >

Maiden Mare Help Please!

Hey everyone, I’m new to breeding. My mare has become unexpectedly pregnant. I literally had no idea until 2 days ago when I noticed her teats seemed swollen. I was able to express quite a bit of fluid, which was thin and yellowish in color. I did not express anymore, as I didn’t want to deplete her colostrum. The only stud she has had access to is a standard grey donkey, so I guess I will have a mule soon. Question is, how close do y’all think she is? I have called my vet, so hopefully he will come out soon. She seems to be forming her bag, but her belly doesn’t seem much bigger than usual. Sorry for the dumb questions, but this is the first time I have had a horse with foal. Oh, and she is 9 years old and this will be her first foal. Can anyone tell from the pictures of her bag how far along she may be? Anyway, any input would be helpful. I’m a newbie with this! Thanks

IMG_0684.JPG

If this is her first pregnancy and your first foal you should have a vet out to check her. You will get some idea of how far along she is, what to look for in a healthy delivery and what you should look out for if this go wrong. Keep the jack away from the mare during her foal heat, which is usually 6 to 8 days postpartum. unless there is a market for oops mules in your area.

1 Like

I agree that the vet would be much better able to confirm pregnancy and assess gestation. But, maybe some math with regard to the exposure to the donkey would help? When were they together, and for how long?

I had this happen. My first horse came as a two-fer but nobody knew it.

I was just a teenager. First horse…poor horse having to try and survive my ignorance and inexperience.