Unlimited access >

Mini rant!

I am sick of seeing western riders call english riders “sissies” and i am sick of seeing english riders say that western is easy. I am pretty sure everyone is but some are fixated about this discipline supremacy. Riding is a hard sport. It requires mental strength as well as physical. We just have different saddles why should it matter. Dressage and reining, barrel racing and show jumping, fox hunting and cutting/roping. I primarily ride english but love to go down to watch barrels and I have always wanted to try it. I feel like we all share the same passion and we should have a mutual respect. I felt a need for this to be said, even if it has already been said/posted.

Right on, equ3strian!

I experienced this same form of “elitism” when I was a professional ballroom dancer. The Smooth Dancers looked down on the Latin Dancers and vice-versa. The International Standard (European style) Dancers looked down on anyone who did American style. The Country & Western folks HATED the Ballroom people, probably because a lot of us said their sport wasn’t “real” dancing. And I’m not going to even try to get into the various styles of Swing Dancing and how one was supposedly “superior” to the rest.

Here’s what I think:

Whenever you’re involved in a competitive sport, it’s bound to bring out “some” people’s insecurities. These attitudes and statements are simply a reflection of how they feel about themselves. Smile and enjoy YOUR experiences in the saddle and tune out the negative people. Unfortunately, they’ll always be there.

Well, I think there are two points of view on this - those who call English riders “sissies,” and those who look at my 16.2, hot Arab/Appaloosa (or for that matter, any of my previous horses, all of whom were at least 16 hands - up to nearly 17 hands) and make comments that boil down to, “I wouldn’t get up on a HUGE horse like that and ride in that itty-bitty saddle!!! You are crazy and/or brave!!” ROFLOL