Unlimited access >

Moving Up and Expectations - Checklist?

Hey everyone!

I’m an adult amateur and re-rider. I have been showing in the Low Adult Hunters (2’6) for about a year. My goal is to move up to the Adults (3ft) when the time is right. My question is - how do you know when the time is right? Some days, I feel like I’m ready and others I’m not so sure.

I’m in a full-time program with a trainer who won’t steer me wrong in this decision, but I’m looking to hear others’ experiences for when they knew they were ready. Is it when your current level feels mundane? Is it when you picture yourself at the new level in a show setting, there are no nerves or worry?

Again, this is something I can easily talk to my trainer about, but I’d just like to hear from fellow ammys when they knew the time was right. I’m in no hurry and have a very capable horse (steady eddy who has shown up to 1.40s). But I just want to know your opinions and experiences - mentally, how do you know it’s time and you’re ready to move up? What’s the checklist?

Thanks all!

Well you don’t go from 2 foot 6 to 3 foot in one go, and you don’t think of it in competition terms.

You start adding in a 2 foot 9 on good days in lessons. Also realize that the course becomes more complex or challenging as the level rises so continue to work on rideability.

A huge factor will be your own courage and balance. Some folks thrive and find the bigger jumps easier to ride. Some of us look at 3 foot and feel sick to our stomachs. You can only find out which one you are by giving it a try.

There’s no reason you can’t play with higher fences now if your coach thinks your balance is there and your horse is fit and skilled. But that’s a long way from showing 3 feet.

6 Likes