My first show since the fall!

Hi everyone!

Just thought I would give a little update - I went to my first show two weeks ago, but I had four midterms this week :dead: so I didn’t get around to posting until now!

I took Poppy to a little clinic/schooling show and we had a great time! Now, Poppy is the mare I was riding when I fell. I started riding Poppy again just before Christmas, and after a long talk with my parents, I convinced them to let me take Poppy for my B rating in Pony Club this year. Poppy is a great, great, great horse! OTTB, 13 years old, a good mind, and sweet as can be. I really love this horse and we have a great working relationship.

So the clinic/schooling show this weekend was run as a clinic with a big-name local eventing trainer on Saturday, then a jumper schooling show on Sunday with coaching from the same clinician - really a great format, especially considering how much I love this trainer.

Poppy was a wee bit naughty during the first part of our lesson on Saturday - one end of the arena was VERY scary! She was throwing an OTTB mare temper tantrum, flying around the arena backwards and threatening to rear. We came through it okay, but to my great surprise, I was afraid. I felt that fear creep up inside me and all I could think about was the fall and I was so scared that I was going to fall again. Eventually I gathered my wits about me and we got over the spooking issues and actually ended the clinic quite well, with Poppy doing some gymnastic exercises over low fences quite calmly and sensibly. By the end of the lesson though, we were both quite tired! I decided not to tell the clinician about the fall, the TBI, or any of the resulting issues (I had Poppy’s owner there with me, a good friend who knows everything, so there was no safety issue) because I wanted her to push me and be brutally honest about my faults in riding and what I need to fix. And she definitely did that :lol: