Unlimited access >

My future

Hi, hope everyone is staying healthy and happy!

I am an upcoming senior in high school with the strongest passion for horses. I’ve been riding for over 11 years with all my experience in Hunter, jumpers, and equitation. I’ve trained countless horses along with my personal one that I have now. It’s now time to start thinking about my future, but I am clueless. I recently discovered Findlay University in Ohio, which has one of the best riding programs in the country. I know of quite a few people who currently go there and LOVE it. However, you have to study something equine-related in order to be a part of the program. This program helps people get internships and jobs once they graduate from college. In all reality, I would love to get an equine business degree and open up my own barn, managing it along with flipping horses. Though I think I might need a reality check. I would like to be successful and be able to easily afford my lifestyle.

So, what I am asking is if you were in my shoes, or have been in my shoes, what college/career route would you take? If you have an equine business degree, what is your career now? Are you financially happy with it?

Another thing, my parent’s arent supportive of this dream a single bit, putting me in the position to have to pay for college completely myself. I do have a college fund, and they would allow me to access it upon choosing another dream, which I have zero interest to do anything else.

Thanks so much!

There have been alot of threads on this.

Generally college equine studies programs don’t seem to be that useful in getting started in the business. What’s more useful is getting a good competition record and apprenticing to a good trainer. What level are you competing at as a junior?

There are two ways to do horses. One is as an amateur with a good paying nonhorse job.