Unlimited access >

My horse rushes over fences-help!

What are your ideas to keep a horse from rushing fences?

I don’t think a stronger bit is the answer, especially if it is partly your fault. I’m not an expert by any means, but what has been working with my mare to stop her rushing fences was doing some simple gymnastics. We just trotted over 4 cavelletti in a figure 8 pattern–2 20m circles. My trainer stood in front of the cavalletti and, as we trotted towards her over them, she would point left or right. We had to maintain a straight line over the cav and then do a nice circle in whichever direction to come back in, focusing on having the same rhythm at all times. The next time we jumped (just a cross rail) she didn’t rush at all. Maybe you could start with the simple 4, then raise the back one to jump height–she can’t rush and maintain her trot rhythm with the cav there. I guess you could do this with canter as well, if you space the poles correctly.

find another trainer who can help… trust me i know from experience. My horse went from dead gallop, upside down rushing to fences to being able to jump on a loose rein. it takes time but lots of retraining, grids and basics help. Oh! And remember to breathe! :yes:

This is going to sound to stupid but try it. Since you want to take a bid so badly.
It will be easiest on a wall or fence.
Set fence.
Start with it as a ground line between standards.
Trot over it.
WITH YOUR EYES CLOSED starting about 3-5 strides out.
As you are mroe comfortable, have your ground person raise it to a smal x.
Repeat, at a trot.
Gradually work up to something “bigger”, using the term loosely.
And gradually work up to a canter.
Trust me, it works.

I’m going to assume that any soundness problems have been ruled out.